Rogers $300M dollar partnership in Eastern Ontario wireless networks

rogers cellular antennae
Credit: Rogers Communications

Rogers in partnership with the Eastern Ontario Wardens Caucus, the Government of Canada, the Government of Ontario and EORN (Eastern Ontario Regional Network) has committed to bringing over $300 million dollars to upgrade and expand wireless networks in Eastern Ontario. This project, according to a news release from Rogers, lays out their five-year plan of the company to upgrade and expand wireless connectivity to 113 municipalities, indigenous communities and “eliminate dead zones”.

Since the onset of the pandemic, communities particularly those in rural areas like much of Eastern Ontario, have had the demand for their wireless internet skyrocket. Investments for years in these communities have always lagged behind their urban counterparts and this proposal should help close some of that gap.

“Reliable cell service in our region will improve our health and safety, and lead to economic growth. Our community has been firmly behind the EORN cell gap project, and I am thankful to my colleagues in neighbouring ridings for championing it… This project will connect the residents of Eastern Ontario to fast, reliable cellular service. In addition to this, the Government of Canada is connecting Ontarians to high-speed internet by committing over $233 million into 23 projects that will connect 33,649 households across the province. Congratulations to all involved in today’s important announcement.”

The Honourable Maryam Monsef, Minister of Women and Gender Equality and Rural Economic Development for the Government of Canada

According to Rogers, the partnership will result in the construction of 300 cell towers, upgrade 300 others and deliver 99% of the region’s demand for mobile voice services. In addition, the company states that 95% of the region will have access to services that enable standard definition video, typical mobile use and video calling and 85% of the region will have access to higher-speed service with capabilities for HD video.

While the specific details of Rogers expansion plans weren’t available to publish, the following communities were identified in the company’s news release as a participant in the EOWC Project (Eastern Ontario Wardens Caucus):

  • County of Frontenac
  • County of Haliburton
  • County of Hastings
  • City of Kawartha Lakes (single-tier)
  • County of Lanark
  • United Counties of Leeds and Grenville
  • County of Lennox and Addington
  • County of Northumberland
  • County of Peterborough
  • United Counties of Prescott and Russell
  • Prince Edward County (single-tier)
  • County of Renfrew
  • United Counties of Stormont, Dundas and Glengarry
  • The nine separated cities:
    • Kingston
    • Belleville
    • Quinte West
    • Smiths Falls
    • Gananoque
    • Prescott
    • City of Peterborough
    • Pembroke
    • Cornwall

Info Source: Rogers Communications

Chromebook OS gets major feature upgrade with new phone hub and Wi-Fi sync

Previous article

Lenovo Ideapad Chromebook Duet at $299 is a great buy

Next article

You may also like


Comments are closed.

More in News